cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Batteries needed

jalichty
Explorer
Explorer
I am probably reaching the end of the life of the batteries in my FW and boat. I currently have 2 size 24 dual purpose batteries in my FW and I have noticed the useful charge in them has diminished quite a bit. They are over 7 years old. Boat batteries are over 10 years old. Would love to go with lithium, but way too expensive so I'm looking at AGMs. Have been told by a dealer that my Jayco HT 26.5 RLS's convertor will handle this type of battery and I am looking mostly at full deep cycle ones. I would appreciate comments as I am not experienced with AGMs in the least.

As far as the boat, I'm thinking a dual purpose one would work great for the starting battery and perhaps just deep cycle for the electric trolling motor.

Again, any comments would be greatly appreciated.
John A. Lichty
18 REPLIES 18

time2roll
Explorer II
Explorer II
Post the model number of the converter right here before you get AGM batteries.
If you have a WFCO you are probably looking at a replacement.
OEM IOTA may not have the IQ controller needed.
PD may need to add the Wizard controller.

theoldwizard1
Explorer
Explorer
duplicate

theoldwizard1
Explorer
Explorer
MEXICOWANDERER wrote:
Thick dense plates.

You can't LOOK inside of a battery, so the second best thing that is easy to measure is WEIGHT ! More weight, means more lead !

While you can not always do an "apples to apples" comparison (Ah, based on the 20 hr rate), people will notice that a GC battery weights a lot. A pair of 6V GC batteries weights about 128 lbs and has about 230 Ah.

MEXICOWANDERER
Explorer
Explorer
East Penn has their own lead refinery. Lead purity is very important and some impurities that alloy are damned near impossible to refine out economically.

The percentage may halve each run.

AGM manufacturing demands pure "virgin" be used.

Vintage465
Explorer III
Explorer III
theoldwizard1 wrote:
KD4UPL wrote: