cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Battery re-wiring ???

Rotzilla
Explorer
Explorer
I have 2 24 series batteries wired parallel (12v), and have a rats nest of wires running out of my battery boxes.

I am considering using a bus bar attached to the frame to lessen the number of wires going directly to the batteries.

I have a solar panel controller, genset, camper main wire, and the parallel cables all attached directly to the battery.
Is there any thing that can be moved to the bus bar, or do charging items like the solar and genset have to be directly wired the batteries?

I am not a electrical engineer, so go easy on me, any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
14 REPLIES 14

westend
Explorer
Explorer
I bought bus bar from Discount steel. Holes are drilled and tapped in the bar. The copper bar is attached to pieces of HDPE I had around and those pieces are epoxied in place. I used standard weatherproof 4" utility boxes.

You need two bus bars if you are organizing both the positive and negative phases of the 12 V DC system. If your negative phase is split off to the frame and organized well, you only need one bus bar. Bus bars are also sold premade or a guy can buy a lug terminal strip to handle the connections.

Good luck with your project!
'03 F-250 4x4 CC
'71 Starcraft Wanderstar -- The Cowboy/Hilton

Muddydogs
Explorer
Explorer
In my pic the box on the left is positive, the right negative. I can see some confusion since I have red wires running into each box. I used a couple sets of 4ga jumper cables I had to wire my solar controller and inverter. The jumper cables have a ripped cover on one side and a smooth cover on the other, I used the ripped side for positive.
2015 Eclipse Iconic Toy Hauler made by Eclipse Manufacturing which is a pile of junk. If you want to know more just ask and I'll tell you about cracked frames, loose tin, walls falling off, bad holding tanks and very poor customer service.

Muddydogs
Explorer
Explorer