cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dometic WH-6GEA does not work on electric alone

Spindle
Explorer II
Explorer II
I have a 2022 Forrest River Surveyor. It has the “dreaded” Dometic WH-6GEA water heater in it. It’s my understanding that this water heater is supposed to run on gas alone, electric alone or on both at the same time. Mine only works on gas alone or gas/electric together. Will not run on electric alone. It has the 4+6 pin connector. Bought the camper New so no one else but camping world has had their hands on it. I’m a Master Plumber with my own business, so I know my way around trouble shooting. I have 12v on the white wire coming from the switch for the electric. When the 6 pin plug is unplugged I have 12v to the pin for the yellow wire. Plug that plug back in and voltage goes away. If I turn the gas switch on my voltage comes back and will run gas and electric. Gas works fine by itself. I’ve had the thermal diode go bad and a circuit board. I’ve tried 3 other circuit boards and get the same results on all 3. Can not figure out why this water heater will not work on electric alone?
15 REPLIES 15

dougrainer
Nomad
Nomad
ktmrfs wrote:
micro air thermostat will solve the problem. you can set it to ONLY use the gas heat if you want.

I think you are posting on the wrong thread:)

Spindle
Explorer II
Explorer II
Got it figured out. The switches were wired completely wrong from factory creating a ground loop. It works as it should now. Thanks

ktmrfs
Explorer
Explorer
micro air thermostat will solve the problem. you can set it to ONLY use the gas heat if you want.
2011 Keystone Outback 295RE
2004 14' bikehauler with full living quarters
2015.5 Denali 4x4 CC/SB Duramax/Allison
2004.5 Silverado 4x4 CC/SB Duramax/Allison passed on to our Son!

wa8yxm
Explorer III
Explorer III
Ok yes it should work on Gas or Electric or both