cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Inverter ?

MandKJohns
Explorer
Explorer
Are inverters necessary if you are not going to be boon docking? My current Dutchmen TT does not have an inverter on it. As stated in my previous post I am fairly new to this life and still trying to learn as much as I can. For now I plan on only camping where there are power hookups.
13 REPLIES 13

RJsfishin
Explorer
Explorer
No, ya don't need one, but if you smart, you have at least a small one, to at the least watch the news on tv at a rest stop, or overniting at a WM.
Rich

'01 31' Rexall Vision, Generac 5.5k, 1000 watt Honda, PD 9245 conv, 300 watts Solar, 150 watt inv, 2 Cos 6v batts, ammeters, led voltmeters all over the place, KD/sat, 2 Oly Cat heaters w/ ox, and towing a 2012 Liberty, Lowe bass boat, or a Kawi Mule.

BFL13
Explorer II
Explorer II
MandKJohns wrote:
Mandalay Parr wrote:
Inverter is only used when no shore power.

Thanks.

You can power everything from the inverter same as off-grid and just plug the converter into shore power. This is useful if on 15a and are afraid of popping the breaker for that 15a, where you can't get at it. EG, Visiting someone's house overnight.
1. 1991 Oakland 28DB Class C
on Ford E350-460-7.5 Gas EFI
Photo in Profile
2. 1991 Bighorn 9.5ft Truck Camper on 2003 Chev 2500HD 6.0 Gas
See Profile for Electronic set-ups for 1. and 2.

SoundGuy
Explorer
Explorer
MandKJohns wrote:
For now I plan on only camping where there are power hookups.

I added a 1000 watt PSW inverter to our trailer for those times each season we end up camping without shore power, either because it's failed or at times when the only sites available are dry. Not used often but certainly is handy when we do need it. Pics are in my gallery. ๐Ÿ™‚
2012 Silverado 1500 Crew Cab
2014 Coachmen Freedom Express 192RBS
2003 Fleetwood Yuma * 2008 K-Z Spree 240BH-LX
2007 TrailCruiser C21RBH * 2000 Fleetwood Santa Fe
1998 Jayco 10UD * 1969 Coleman CT380