Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

leaky slides.

horton333
Explorer
Explorer
Hi,

New trailer has slides, I have no experience with maintaining them. There are two types of water leaks. Need some advise on what it is reasonable to try to get the dealer to fix.

There was a leak over night, heavy rain, it was coming down one slide. There is a rubber wiping type seal on the side which was pushed all out shape which may have been the problem. When I put the slide in and out the the seal which I had corrected to all smooth, went back to all messed up. I have not lubricated them, the trailer is only in use 2 months, but was manufactured last year. I am guessing this fixable, maybe armorall to lubricate which had been the advise of the dealer when they discussed maintenance. Note all 3 side seals I can see seem to have the same problem of getting all pushed put of shape.

There is a problem when it has been raining and I pull the slides in. Water comes down after it is retracted. Looking at the design it is not clear this would ever wipe enough water off to stay dry inside, the metal surface is not flat enough and the water gets pushed to the low point and a fair bit gets in. Maybe I just have to be ready to wipe it up?

This is the first time for the first problem, we have had several nights of rain. The second always happens if it has rained and they are retracted, only on one slide but the other slide is much flatter.

The seals are made by Lippert according to the label.

Any advice?

Ford Explorer or Chrysler 300C to tow with.
Tracer Air 238 to be towed.
Triumph Thunderbird Sport - with the toy-hauler gone it's at home.
Retired very early and loving it.
4 REPLIES 4

QCMan
Nomad II
Nomad II

Is it fixed?

2020 Keystone Cougar 22RBS, Ram 1500, two Jacks and plenty of time to roam!
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. A.E.
Good Sam Life Member