Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Troubleshooting Dometic RM 4223

BigCat77
Explorer
Explorer
Hi all,

Im trying to troubleshoot issues with our Domestic RM 4223. This is my first time testing the fridge as the Viking 2470 is new to us.

When switching to 110V it immediately trips the camper GFI, if I plug directly to the house it trips that breaker as well.

When switching to 12V I hear the converter fan kick on but nothing kicking on with the fridge. Not sure if I would hear anything like a traditional compressor fridge, this is the first time testing it.

I tried to start it with propane, I was getting spark but no burn. Im actually going to try on propane again today while its less windy out.

Any other suggestions to look for is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Forrest
11 REPLIES 11

Chris_Bryant
Explorer
Explorer
I have seen elements trip a gfi when cold, then work fine after heated by the lp flame. Not sure if it was a bit of moisture inside the element leaking just enough current to trip a gfi.
-- Chris Bryant

BigCat77
Explorer
Explorer
Yah, I tested the element disconnected. I went through all the connections and everything looked fine.

I however did find the issue. The house outlet I was using I thought was a 20 amp but it turned out to be a 15 amp GFI breaker (outdoor socket). After keeping the shore line plugged into that I then plugged the fridge into a outlet on a standard 20 amp breaker and its working fine.

I swear I had tested different outlets before but either way everything seems to working as should.

I appreciate everyones help and I have learned a lot with your assistance.

Thanks again and safe travels,
Forrest

jkwilson
Explorer II
Explorer II
Did you disconnect the element from the circuit when you measured?

Even at 90 Ohms, the element only draws 160W which is 1.33A so not likely to be a cause of tripping a breaker.
John & Kathy
2014 Grand Design Reflection 303RLS
2014 F250 SBCC 6.2L 3.73

BigCat77
Explorer