Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

4-season truck camper and anti-freeze

natali
Explorer
Explorer
Hello!

I am new to truck campers and RVs. In my search for a 4-season truck camper, I came across a truck camper owner (Kodiak 1995) who said that his truck camper was 4 seasons. When I asked if there was a heated basement, he said that I would need to keep RV anti-freeze in the grey and black tanks and that I would need to keep running the heater to make sure that the fresh water tank doesn't freeze.

Do you have any advice? Is this normal? Is this really a 4-season camper? Will it survive winter in Saskatchewan?

Thank you in advance for your help.
11 REPLIES 11

natali
Explorer
Explorer
Thank you to all of you for taking the time to chime in. I truly appreciate it.

I do not own any camper yet, and your input certainly will help me make a good choice.

Grit_dog
Nomad III
Nomad III
@natali, itโ€™s hard to understand you , but appears you now own this camper? If thatโ€™s the case, then you learning what features it has, is going to be your best bet. Not likely to get many or any first hand responses from someone with the same rig, same conditions.

Also, do not assume that any RV is built to some sort of stringent standards with respect to being insulated, heated, weather proof. Itโ€™s not a house.

That said, youโ€™ve had prefect weather to test its winter operation abilities this week, with a get out of jail free card (warmer weather ) next week. Maybe you made use of this opportunity?

One thing is for sure though, winter in Saskatchewan in a TC will be a real โ€œadventureโ€ even under the best of conditions. Good luck!
2016 Ram 2500, MotorOps.ca EFIlive tuned, 5โ€ turbo back, 6" lift on 37s
2017 Heartland Torque T29 - Sold.
Couple of Arctic Fox TCs - Sold

time2roll
Explorer II
Explorer II
I would look for electrically heated holding tanks. Or plan to add the heat pads.

bobndot
Explorer II
Explorer II