cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Changing Axle Ratio from 3.73 to 4.10 and GCWR

scottkeen
Explorer
Explorer
I'm looking to get a used 2004-2007 Dodge Ram 3500 truck.
The specs I've found for 2004-2007 Ram 3500 Quad Cab 4WD LB DRW:

3.73 axle ratio = 21,000 (GCWR) 13,350 (max trailer)
4.10 axle ratio = 23,000 (GCWR) 15,350 (max trailer)

Pretty much all I can find on the used market are ones with 3.73 axle ratio.

My questions:
1) How costly is it to change out the gears to 4.10?
2) How can I get the truck re-rated/re-certified to 23,000 GCWR after the gear change?
3) If I have 4.10 gears but my truck sticker says my GCWR is still 21,000, will I have a legal problem if I'm made to weigh my rig and my trailer is 14,500 lbs (truck is 7,500)?

I'm new to all this, so maybe I don't understand. I read about people pulling trailers in excess of their rating. I don't want to do that without changing the gears so that it's safe. But how do people pull trailers around the country with trailers in excess of their truck's rating? Aren't they made to weigh their trailers at weigh stations? Does highway patrol make people weigh their rigs and verify GCWR compliance?
2007 Dodge Ram 3500 QC LB DRW Laramie 6.7L -- Patriot Blue!
2011 Keystone Montana Mountaineer 347THT
2008 Suzuki SV650
2011 German Shepherd Dog
16 REPLIES 16

transamz9
Explorer
Explorer
Me Again wrote:
mtofell1 wrote:
If you do re-gear there are many options other than just the 4.10s. I have the 3.73 and if/when I do it I will likely go to 4.44 or 4.56.

I towed for 11 years with a 47RE/4:10's, same ratios, and would NOT wanted lower gears. Chris