Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Do I need an anti-sway setup too?

RVNewbie4now
Explorer
Explorer
Hi,
I'm an extreme newbie here and feel like this has got to be a stupid question but here goes; I just bought a KZ Sportsman 291RKLE which is about 33' and has a loaded weight of about 8000 lbs. I'm pulling with a 1500 Silverado (well within its tow capacity) with a Blue Ox Sway Pro wd setup installed at the dealership. My question is do I still need an anti-sway system too? The dealer told me the swaypro should be all I need but I don't want to head off on a long trip and end up being some kind of statistic or a photo of what NOT to do.
Thanks

Rick
(Still learning)
26 REPLIES 26

rexlion
Explorer
Explorer
downtheroad wrote:
dodge guy wrote:
You don`t need it as its already equipped. however I would've went with a better system like the Reese Straight Line (Dual Cam). Its a much better sway control system. .

Just wondering why you think one is better than the other..Have you used both? I have a lot of experience with both and both are excellent hitches. Neither is better than the other.

Some people with that long of a trailer have had uncomfortable experiences while using the sway pro. It does not have the ability to dampen the trailer's motion as it returns toward a straight 180 degree position, thus it can overshoot to the other side more easily than if the hitch used friction dampening.
Mike G.
Liberty is meaningless where the right to utter one's thoughts and opinions has ceased to exist. That, of all rights, is the dread of tyrants. --Frederick Douglass
photo: Yosemite Valley view from Taft Point

TurnThePage
Explorer
Explorer