cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Do we need sway bars??

jansj
Explorer
Explorer
Newbie here - 2001 Silverado 2500 HD towing 2006 Forest River 23' Shamrock hybrid TT. Do we need brake controller? Do we need sway bar? Trip is coming up soon and I need the advice of you more experienced folks! Thanks in advance.
JanJ
"Do what you like - like what you do!"
12 REPLIES 12

randallb
Explorer
Explorer
We picked up our 15RB in ND when we went to visit family. Towed it from Fargo to Grand Forks on just a draw bar and ball. Had a WD with sway control delivered to my nephews business in south central ND. Towed down to his place and installed the WD. What a difference. The 1400 mile drive home was easier than the 300 prior to the WD install. Anything that makes the drive easier is worth the cost. Much less stress after the WD with sway control was installed. Best $255 ever spent on towing equipment.
Randy

JimNH
Explorer
Explorer
A WDH with sway control is not expensive and it "can't hurt" - peace of mind if you cross a windy bridge or a large semi goes barreling past you! Better safe than sorry here.

poppin_fresh
Explorer
Explorer
I towed my 3000lb-ish hybrid with my Silverado 1500 with out WDH (did have brake controller). It was completely fine, didn't affect the steering, and never even wiggled in the wind or being passed by big rigs. WDH probably would have been a waste of $$ for that combo.

You have a much higher rated truck with not much heavier trailer. I personally would try it out to see if you feel you need a WDH.
2016 Bullet 274BHS
2015 Silverado 1500 Double Cab
Andersen WDH

drenjoey
Explorer
Explorer
Brake controller is a law for trailer over 3000lbs here in Maine, and probably across the country'

WD hitch is a big plus.

As for the sway bar, it is incorporated with my Blue Ox Weight Distribution system.
I didn't have sway bars with the previous campers and WD hitch I owned, and never felt the need for them

fla-gypsy
Explorer