Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First Timer - Water tank reading empty after pump turned on

Trevut
Explorer
Explorer
Hi all,

This is my first time taking my new trailer out. I filled the fresh water tank and the indicator light read full for the fresh water tank. I then turned the pump on. When the pump turned on I could hear water running, and I assumed water was running into the lines. As normal, the water pump kicked off after the pressure built up. However, my fresh water tank is now reading empty. How can this be? The blank tank is reading empty and the gray tank is reading empty. I turn on the faucet and water does come out. I've looked all around the trailer and no water has drained out that I can see--there are no wet spots anywhere under the trailer, and nothing is dripping from the trailer.

I wouldn't think that this much water could fill the lines, but is that what happened? Any help would be appreciated.
11 REPLIES 11

rbpru
Explorer
Explorer
Our fresh tank is the only accurate gauge and then only when the TT is level.

The black and gray tank crud up and are not very accurate for long. People have various elixirs and methods of cleaning and some work rather well until the next outing.

Eventually you just develop a feel for the fill levels.
Twenty six foot 2010 Dutchmen Lite pulled with a 2011 EcoBoost F-150 4x4.

Just right for Grandpa, Grandma and the dog.

MarkTwain
Explorer
Explorer
LVJJJ wrote:
When I get bored, I push the monitor buttons to watch the light show. No, I don't have a life.

The black water is full when you get splash back while flushing, so soothing. The grey water is full when water starts running over the side of the tub or shower.

This is exactly what Mark Twains' wisdom would be:):):)

LVJJJ
Explorer
Explorer
When I get bored, I push the monitor buttons to watch the light show. No, I don't have a life.