cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Flexible or conventional solar panels for TC?

Boatycall
Explorer
Explorer
My questions pertain only to physical mounting on my TC. I'm an electrical engineer, and already have done several solar setups. I have 600w of solar right now on the Shotwagon (my trailer in the sig pic). I use them through 6 batts in the trailer, then to a 4ga umbilical from the trailer to the TC to keep the TC charged.

I have no solar on the TC, and I'm considering adding a Morning Star mppt (same one as the shotwagon) and solar to the TC. The panels on the Shotwagon are peel-n-stick Unisolar flexible panels, on a tin roof.

I saw Amazon had these on sale for $99. No self-adhesive backing, and feedback is "ok", not spectacular, but they're very lightweight. I'm thinking 5-6 of them, depending on how many fit. 6 would be ideal, since i could run them in series-parallel in two high-voltage banks to a mppt, which is how my Shotwagon is set up.
Flexible panels on sale for $99

Conventional panels are more "Tried and true" and seem to have better feedback. Cost is irrelevant since they're both relatively the same price.

For those who have put solar on TC rubber roofs - your thoughts?
'15 F450, 30k Superhitch, 48" Supertruss, 19.5's, Torklift Fast Guns
'12 Eagle Cap 1160, 800watts solar, Tristar MPPT, Magnum Hybrid 3k Inverter
'15 Wells Cargo 24' Race Trailer, 600 watts Solar, TriStar MPPT, Xantrex 2kw inverter
'17 Can Am X3 XDS Turbo
19 REPLIES 19

Fastbrit
Explorer
Explorer
Installed them on my camper. bought from Amazon.
In the first year performance was the same as hard panel, but now 3 years after I get almost nothing out of them.
I should have opted for hard panelI

1997 Dodge Ram 3500 CTD. Timbrens all around, Bilstein shocks.
2014 Chalet TS116

HMS_Beagle
Explorer
Explorer
I have used flexible panels on boats, along with many of my friends.