cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

fresh water tank bracing bending down

prairiequad
Explorer
Explorer
hello; I'm a newbie just purchased a 2017 forest river pull behind trailer and found the fresh water tank brackets bending. is this a common problem or recalls with any makes ?
thankyou
9 REPLIES 9

ktmrfs
Explorer
Explorer
I'd say this is a common problem with most makes. How serious varies. My solution was pretty easy and worked well for me.

I cut several pieces of 3/4" plywood that I could slide underneath the empty tank and above the angle support to brace the bottom of the tank.

The I screwed through the rail into the plywood to capture the plywood. Just use screws that don't go through the plywood.

then in several spots I screwed 1" wide 3/16" flat stock into the rails so the flat stock replaced the thin bands.

This supports the water tank well.

If you don't have clearance to install 3/4" plywood, use thinner if possible and if no room at all, use 1 1/2 or 2" 3/16 angle iron in multiple places screwed into th the rails. In fact you could sandwich plywood between the rails and the angle iron. The plywood distributes the weight so the tanks doesn't deform.
2011 Keystone Outback 295RE
2004 14' bikehauler with full living quarters
2015.5 Denali 4x4 CC/SB Duramax/Allison
2004.5 Silverado 4x4 CC/SB Duramax/Allison passed on to our Son!

goducks10
Explorer
Explorer
Get a piece of 2" x 2" x 3/16" angle and mount it under the tank spanning from the frame sides. Drill two 3/8" holes in the frame flange and bolt it up.
Peace of mind fix.

myredracer
Explorer II
Explorer II
Do you have an enclosed & heated underbelly? If yes, what looks like a sagging tank could be caused by the layer of batt insulation that they sandwich between the tank bottom and underbelly coroplast which causes the coroplast to look like it's bulging downward.