Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Grand Design for Boondocking

nonrev321
Explorer
Explorer
Hello,

Am considering a Grand Design 2670KM (approx 32ft) for Boondocking. Has good size tanks so thats a positive.

Haven't been able to find much from people who own a Grand Design and use it for boondocking. Would be interested in their observations and comments on how suitable the Grand Design is.

Thank you

Rgds

nonrev
12 REPLIES 12

Copperhead
Explorer
Explorer
Don't overlook Lance. They are good trailers for boondocking.

Huntindog
Explorer
Explorer
goducks10 wrote:
Broken welds and insufficient bracing are the issues.

These issues go hand in hand with a frame that was spec'ed undersized.

I have had 3 TTs and 3 different frame makers. The lippert on my Sabre is by far the best one.

Both in materials and workmanship.
A VERY heavy frame, top notch welding (I am a welder) and Powdercoat instead of paint.

When it comes to frames.....
You get what you are willing to pay for.
Huntindog
100% boondocking
2021 Grand Design Momentum 398M
2 bathrooms, no waiting
104 gal grey, 104 black,158 fresh
FullBodyPaint, 3,8Kaxles, DiscBrakes
17.5LRH commercial tires
1860watts solar,800 AH Battleborn batterys
2020 Silverado HighCountry CC DA 4X4 DRW

goducks10
Explorer
Explorer
Huntindog wrote:
BizmarksMom wrote:
I took a hard look at the Grand Design trailers, but the Lippert frame killed the deal. I was already trading in my Keystone trailer because the frame could not take the long dirt roads I drive to get to camping spots. I wan't going to buy another nice looking trailer with a wimpy frame.

I ended up buying a Nash 22h -- Part of the Northwood RV line. Outdoors RV is equally sturdy. My trailer is heavy - it's pushing my F150's capabilities. But it came with the big tanks, solar capability, and sturdy trailer I needed.