cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Nissan Pathfinder V8 and Toy Hauler

Nascar24
Explorer
Explorer
I have been towing for many years but always trying to get some good information, hopefully first hand if possible

I have towed with more than enough truck always 3/4 ton or 1 ton with Big Blocks or Diesels engines and except with one over sized trailer , they were all a pleasure.

I recently sold my last diesel truck and 33' toy hauler. I opted to go to a more civilized daily driver a 2008 Nissan Pathfinder 5.6 L V8 and would like recommendations for a Toy Hauler? I 'm leaning towards a Grey Wolf 22R by Forest River weights in at 4800lbs and 28' long, not sure if it would be too much for the Pathfinder. The tow capacity for the Pathfinder is 7000lbs.

Thanks in advance
Good Luck and Happy Trails
2008 Nissan Pathfinder 4x4 V8
2014 Grey Wolf 19RR Toy Hauler
Nascar24 A lengend in my own mind, A Scary thought in someone else's!
14 REPLIES 14

Mike_Up
Explorer
Explorer
Nascar24 wrote:
Just an update I purchased a Grey Wolf 19RR 4180 lbs dry, 580 lb tongue weight, two trips under my belt and seems to be a good match. I did install a set of airlift air bags for the next trip.

A scary combination.
2019 Ford F150 XLT Sport, CC, 4WD, 145" WB, 3.5L Ecoboost, 10 speed, 3.55 9.75" Locking Axle, Max Tow, 1831# Payload, 10700# Tow Rating, pulling a 2020 Rockwood Premier 2716g, with a 14' box. Previous 2012 Jayco Jay Flight 26BH.

Nascar24
Explorer
Explorer
Just an update I purchased a Grey Wolf 19RR 4180 lbs dry, 580 lb tongue weight, two trips under my belt and seems to be a good match. I did install a set of airlift air bags for the next trip.

Mike_Up
Explorer
Explorer
Had the same generation Pathfinder with the V6. The tongue weight rating is low on these at 600 lbs for the V6 and 700 lbs for the V8. Even 700 lbs is to low for most 5000 lbs loaded 22' bumper to hitch TTs that aren't toy haulers.