cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pressure Tested Camper Leaks Found

joeshmoe
Explorer
Explorer
Set up a leaf blower to pressurize the camper. Went around the whole thing with soapy water.

Four leaks along the corner moulding. Removed the insert trim and screws along the bottom side and could smell a wet, rotting wood smell along with wetness in the trim channel. I think there's delamination beginning too since I can push in on the worst leaking area. I'm sure this didn't just start leaking a few months ago or probably even a year ago. Camper is only 3 1/2 yrs old.

When I push in on it

Just need to figure out how to remove the moulding. It will NOT break free from the top or bottom. I'm afraid I'll damage something, so I'm not trying too hard. I have zero experience at doing this. Any suggestions?
2014 Northwood Wolf Creek 850
2005 Ford F350 SRW SuperCab/LongBed 6.0 Powerstroke
QuickTrick's Towing Tune
Torklift Tie Downs/Fastguns/Upper/Lower Stableloads
Rancho 9000's
40 REPLIES 40

Fisher_Bill
Explorer
Explorer
I Think the OP used a leaf blower and I think the CFM will be quite a bit higher than a Vacuum.

And as you stated, maybe it's an internal issue?

ticki2 wrote:
Jim , perhaps I am overly optimistic of the test and thought it would show up any leaks . I am half wondering now if it is not a condensation issue under certain conditions . My camper is riveted aluminum skin , aluminum ribs and aluminum interior skin with factory spayed on foam insulation . But if that were the case , being the camper is now 49 years old , the wood wings should have rotted out long ago .
2006 Chevy 3500 Dually 6.6 Duramax Diesel & Allison Transmission
2010 Northshore 28RK by Dutchmen
Our first fifth wheel!!!

ticki2
Explorer
Explorer