Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Silicone

cccougar
Explorer
Explorer
Hi All,
Looking to touch some areas around the outside corners where the side meets the back of the TT. There are some very small cracks and very small gaps beginning to form and I want to work on sealing that up. I have never done this before. I know there are so many products out there but I do not know where to begin. My friend used a plain old clear silicone on his 5th wheel but I know silicone is tough to clean up if u make a mistake. Thanks for any advice.
15 REPLIES 15

cccougar
Explorer
Explorer
Thank you for the input. I will be working on this for the first time this week.

mike-s
Explorer
Explorer
GeorgiaJim wrote:
Has anyone used the new polyurethane caulk?
I use Sikaflex 221, but it's not "new." I find it much easier to apply than Proflex, and it doesn't stay sticky and attract dirt.

GeorgiaJim
Explorer
Explorer
Has anyone used the new polyurethane caulk?

LVJJJ
Explorer
Explorer
I repeat, NO SILICONE !!!

It eventually separates and pulls away from the seam. Then it will actually trap water underneath it. This had happened to the last two used TT's I bought and had to spend hours taking it all off, WD-40 will help loosen it, then use a razor blade bendable knife to scrape it off. Silicone over old caulk is even worse. I've used Proflex and its good but am now using Sikiflex 221, a marine caulk. use self leveling Dicor on the roof
1994 GMC Suburban K1500
2005 Trail Cruiser TC26QBC
1965 CHEVY VAN, 292 "Big Block 6" (will still tow)
2008 HHR
L(Larry)V(Vicki)J(Jennifer)J(Jesse)J(Jason)

Community Alumni
Not applicable
OSI Quad is pretty easy to find at Home Depot and works well on the vertical surfaces. I usually carefully go over the area with some Goof Off Pro Strength to soften and remove the old caulking. Then I'll go over the area with OSI Quad.

ScottG
Nomad
Nomad