cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Adding a Hitch To The Trailer

TheDirtBiker
Explorer
Explorer
Hey Guys newbie here, hope I found the right forum for my question.

I've just put down a deposit on a 2018 Tracer 24DBS

http://primetimerv.com/product-details.aspx?LineID=475&Image=24433&ModelID=3690#Main

I want to add a receiver to the rear of the trailer so that I can use a "hitch hauler" to haul two dirt bikes (less than 500lbs, more than 400) My wife is FREAKING out that I want to do this because when you read the fine print Tracer says that you cannot add anything to the bumper or the rear of the frame.

Now common sense tells me that this frame is a pretty beefy piece of I Beam steel. I have a buddy that's a fabricator (and mechanical engineer) and we were planning to either use one of the standard recievers below that appear to support up to 500lbs tongue weight or fab something up ourselves.

So what do you guys say, should I listen to the wife or am I right that it's not a big issue and I won't have any problems?

http://www.buyautotruckaccessories.com/curt-adjustable-rv-trailer-hitch-cur13701.html?utm_source=bing&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=SC_PLA_CURT%20Manufacturing&utm_term=1100404023410&utm_content=CURT%20Manufacturing%20-%20All
60 REPLIES 60

klutchdust
Explorer II
Explorer II
Dadoffourgirls wrote:
I just hope biker comes back in 10 years and tells us he was right, and not his wife coming on to tell us he was wrong!

And I will not bother to find the picture of my broken frame from the 4 bike carrier that was attached to the frame rails

Doubtful. Having spent my career both building/repairing semi trailers and other road traveling equipment I can say that the failure rate of his project is almost certain. The frames they use today in trailer builds isn't like it used to be and cracked frames and broken goosenecks even on high dollar rigs is frequent.