cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Fishing in Yellowstone?

ryanb-72
Explorer
Explorer
Hello all, We are planning for our trip to Yellowstone and I was hoping to have a morning (or day) to do a little fishing. My problem is I have little to no experience with fishing other than bass fishing we do in Texas. I really would love for my daughter to catch some trout. I wouldn't mind using a guide if it wasn't to expensive and they were kid friendly. I guess what I am getting at is I am lost on how to go about it. Any suggestions thoughts or recommendations would be great!
Thanks
2012 Jayco X17Z
2013 Ford F-150 ecoboost 4x4
Kipor KGE 3000TI
22 REPLIES 22

John_I_Haggerty
Explorer
Explorer
I used to fish Yellowstone a lot over 20 years ago. My best friend "Fish Man" (now fishing with God) and I use to fish there 10 days straight every fall. What I remember is license was cheap and there were certain stream sections for kids.

I've fished a lot over the last 45 years for many species in many locations. Yellowstone was my favorite. I often think of the great fishing I did with "Fish Man'. Never before, or again, did I find that catching so many fish could become boring. First hole, second valley, Lamar River, don't get better than that.

Now if I can only spend less time fishing Canada and Gulf Coast, I'd be fishing the many streams in the park.
2008 Keystone Cougar 31BHS

2008 Ram 3500 Laramie Quad Cab 4x4
Inferno Red, Khaki leather, CTD, 68RFE
Trailer tow, Anti-spin, Sunroof, Tube steps, DVD based GPS, etc...

ryanb-72
Explorer
Explorer
Thank you all for the replies. I will check the links and suggestions.

narcodog: we will be staying at madison campground and then colter bay rv park.
2012 Jayco X17Z
2013 Ford F-150 ecoboost 4x4
Kipor KGE 3000TI

narcodog
Explorer II
Explorer II
I have fished the Park for the last six years. Where are you going to stay. That will determine some of the answers I can give you.

Francesca_Knowl
Explorer