cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Stacking RV fridge and furnace unit in same cabinet?

tooldad1041
Explorer
Explorer
I am converting a cargo trailer to a toy hauler with my son and his best friends so we can travel to different ATV parks in midwest.

To make the most efficient furnace run both for vents and propane lines, I would need to build a cabinet that would have the furnace on the bottom, then about 2ft off the ground, an RV fridge. There would be a 3/4 plywood panel separating the 2 units.

Disclaimer, I am a shop teacher, just not an HVAC technician. I understand I will have to cut holes in outside of trailer.

In our current commercially built toy hauler, the fridge and furnace are on opposite sides. Just wanted to get some suggestions and clarification if stacking, but separate compartments, would be safe and ok.
11 REPLIES 11

Vintage465
Explorer III
Explorer III
I don't know that I've ever seen a trailer that doesn't have the Fridge over the Furnace. It is certainly the norm
V-465
2013 GMC 2500HD Duramax Denali. 2015 CreekSide 20fq w/450 watts solar and 465 amp/hour of batteries. Retired and living the dream!

BarneyS
Explorer III
Explorer III
deltabravo wrote:
tooldad1041 wrote:
...then about 2ft off the ground

Do you mean 2' off the floor of the trailer?

I've seen several RVs with the furnace and fridge stacked.

Of course that is what he meant. Not only several but many have that arrangement and I and others posted about it in this thread.

I believe all manufacturers of RV refrigerators intend for them to be about 2 feet above the floor. Otherwise, you would have to bend all the way to the floor to get something from the bottom drawers or shelf.
I realize the some popups or smaller trailers may have different arrangements and have the fridge lower.
Barney
2004 Sunnybrook Titan 30FKS TT
Hensley "Arrow" 1400# hitch (Sold)
Not towing now.