cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tow vehicle audio, nav & backup camera - what to do?

Second_Chance
Explorer II
Explorer II
Hello, everyone. I'm a newbie to the forums but have already gleaned a lot of useful information from the group so far. My question today concerns “technology in the cockpit.”

Our tow vehicle is a 2005 Tahoe LT, 5.3L with tow package and only about 72K miles (pulling a new Surveyor Sport 220). The truck came with the non-Bose sound system but with onStar. Being a musician since the ‘60s (and, worst of all, a bass player), I could not abide by the stock sound system, so I installed what I call my “stealth” audio system. This consists of the stock head unit (to retain steering wheel controls, onStar, and a stock appearance for security purposes) feeding a JL Audio CleanSweep to get the messed-up stock EQ back to flat. The CleanSweep then feeds a multi-band parametric EQ (for pinking the system to the vehicle), four-channel amp for the doors and a bridged amp for the JL Audio center console Stealth sub. The primary music source is a Kenwood Music Keg hard drive unit stocked with 70 or 80 GB of uncompressed (FLAC) audio files. With this said, I mostly get to listen to music going to/from work (still putting off retirement) and when my wife is asleep on trips. Otherwise, we often find ourselves listening to a good book on CD.

My current navigation unit is a Garmin 2555LMT with which I’ve been very happy. (I probably wouldn’t know any better, though, as my flying and sailing days were pre-GPS…)