cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

South Dakota pheasant hunting.

Stavie
Explorer
Explorer
I'm new to the RV lifestyle but I am looking to take my adult son and 2 18 yr old grandsons on a hunting trip Oct 15-19 in central South Dakota.

Has anyone done this and if so can you give me any advice?

It would be ideal to just park it next to the area we will be hunting since we don't plan on spending our free time in the bars.

But I'm not finding anything on the net about spots other than regular campgrounds.

I've hunted there once 15 years ago, but we stayed in a hotel.
8 REPLIES 8

rolling_rhoda
Explorer
Explorer
SD State Parks and Rec Areas If state park or state rec areas don't exist where you want to go, there are lots of other options.

In many communities large and small, look for the bright orange "Rooster Rush" signage. The local bank or bar can suggest where to stay (bankers usually know farmers who allow hunting, too). Many small towns have a muni/county park with camping spots. Motels often have a few RV spots, too. Public lands where hunting is allowed might not have a parking area, leaving hunters to park in the ditch or along the side of a gravel road.

During opener, a lot of small towns have community suppers (full on roast beef dinner and homemade pie for $8), early breakfast and dinner specials at the town café, 5 AM church services, and lodging/camping that is only open during hunting season. There are also fall festivals, craft shows, other events for non-hunters.

We'd be glad to have you in South Dakota! Safe travels!

John_Burke
Explorer
Explorer
http://www.ultimatecampgrounds.com/uc/index.php

Try this site.

cjoseph
Explorer
Explorer
Land access will be tough on opening day. We had much success going the 2nd week of the season.