cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Rio grand valley

JMCC730248
Explorer
Explorer
Itโ€™s been several years since I wintered down there;any recommendations for reasonably priced parks with music jams and pot lucks?thanks in advance;
2016 Ford F250 Diesel short bed 6speed automatic
06 jayco eagle 301rls,retired and loving it, TOM .............don,t look back something might be gaining on you..........
10 REPLIES 10

pyoung47
Explorer
Explorer
We winter at Mission West RV in Palmview. There are weekly jams open to the public and a private jam session just for park members. We also have a golf course. I believe that it is $1,000 for five months for first timers.

8ntw8tn
Explorer
Explorer
Disclaimer: I have no personal experience with the park, nor is it a promotion of it. We have friends from Illinois who winter at Paradise RV Park in Harlingen, TX. Their description seems to match your requirements. Hope this helps.
'08 Chevy Silverado 3500 Duramax;
'10 Carriage Cameo F35FWS
Det 1 56th SOWg

TomG2
Explorer
Explorer
Things were already changing before Covid 19 hit. It just hastened things along. Unlike twenty years ago, there are few people under 70 enjoying the RGV Winters. Dances that at one time sold out are now half occupied for instance. It is still a good bargain in weather for those frugal Midwesterners that want to get out of Iowa or Minnesota on the cheap. The appeal for many of us Singles was the dances but who knows if and when they will return?

I hope this does not come across as too negative as I plan to be here a couple of more Winters. It is cheap, windy, the locals are friendly, and there will be some bargains to be had in park models and mobile homes. Be aware that the locals are not worried about the Covid as they slam the ever popular flea markets without masks or distancing. That is why we are on the national news most evenings.

JMCC730248
Explorer
Explorer