Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Question-Can I use my roof mounted a/c in my stationary rv

brainclutter1
Explorer
Explorer
Hello,
While I'm new to RV.NET, I'm not new to forums in general.
I have a question regarding whether or not,it would be a safety issue to use my rooftop mounted (working) a/c unit to cool my '87 Franklin 35 ft., STATIONARY travel trailer, that has had a wood framed, pitched metal roof added 10 plus years ago.
There is also at the opposite end of the roof, an attic exhaust fan (currently not hooked up to power.).
Can I/should I attempt to use this now enclosed a/c unit, only if I use the exhaust fan at the same time, to avoid overheating..., or should I just scrap the whole idea of using the roof top a/c, altogether..?
I have talked to a licensed electrician, who was not sure if it was legal (in the state of NH) or not, but declined, because he did not want to risk his license.
Any thoughts or advice would be GREATLY appreciated.
Thank you.
15 REPLIES 15

wa8yxm
Explorer III
Explorer III
The only thing I would be concerned about is this.
THe A/C also removes water from the RV this "Condensate" as it is called drips onto the roof. IF the Roof over the RV has clearance at the sides of the RV so the water can continue to the ground.. Just run the exhaust fan to keep a good supply of fresh air in the "Attic".

If the Attic roof is Sealed to the RV roof. YOu need to provide a way for the water to go to ground.
Home was where I park it. but alas the.
2005 Damon Intruder 377 Alas declared a total loss
after a semi "nicked" it. Still have the radios
Kenwood TS-2000, ICOM ID-5100, ID-51A+2, ID-880 REF030C most times

brainclutter1
Explorer
Explorer
Thank you John Wayne,
No, not really.
I would have to hire someone to cut a hole into the side of the trailer, then reinforce/frame around the hole to support the weight, then seal it all up to make it all weatherproof.