cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fresh water tank flows out drain hose

Indianaron
Explorer
Explorer
I'm new to rv's and I don't know why my fresh water tank just runs the water out the drain under my Coachmen Catalina. In the past, water overflowed from this hose when the tank was overfilled. The does not seem to be any leak under the camper, just from the drain hose. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks
14 REPLIES 14

Mich_upnorth
Explorer
Explorer
Check to see if the plug is only hand tight in the valve, with a valve you don’t need the plug and they might have stuck it in there when they winterized it so it wouldn’t get lost. It should screw into your drain hose.
Bob & Barb
2019 F-150 Ecoboost Lariat Crewcab
2014 Coachman Catalina 30RLS
ProPride hitch

Indianaron
Explorer
Explorer
JK, I have two hoses underneath and at the back marked as low point drains. The hose that drains my tank is forward of that and also has another hose next to it that has a valve and plug in it.

Bobbo
Explorer II
Explorer II
Indianaron wrote:
I'm new to rv's and I don't know why my fresh water tank just runs the water out the drain under my Coachmen Catalina. In the past, water overflowed from this hose when the tank was overfilled. The does not seem to be any leak under the camper, just from the drain hose. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

The drain under the Coachman is a low point drain or fresh water tank drain. Its sole purpose is to drain the tank. It has been left open. Find its valve and close it. The vent hose is beside the opening to fill the tank. The vent hose opening is higher than the water tank to prevent siphoning.
Bobbo and Lin
2017 F-150 XLT 4x4 SuperCab w/Max Tow Package 3.5l EcoBoost V6
2017 Airstream Flying Cloud 23FB

Lynnmor
Explorer
Explorer
Perhaps you are looking at a vent hose and the tank is full.

troubledwaters
Explorer II
Explorer II