cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Solar Panel Half Cell Discussion

CA_Traveler
Explorer III
Explorer III
Half Cell or Half Panels are ramping up production and I wanted to know how they work and are they suitable for a RV. I'm not an expert but this is what I found. Lots of sites have the basic half cell marketing information, more power, better shade tolerance, higher cost, pros and cons, etc. I found the link below that has excellent information and comparison of full cell and half cell panels and is the basis for this post using 72 full cell and 144 half cell panels.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AZ8VQ_zmf1M&t=34s
This link also contains excellent graphics on how full cell panels operate in the shade with bypass diodes.

Based on my understanding of the above link the Half Cell panels require a new MPPT controller that can detect 2 power points - The Global Power Point and the Local Power Point and is based on the 5A half cell amp rating and the higher voltage associated with twice the number of cells in the panel and the unique cell layout. Increased shade power is dependent on the type of shade and the panel orientation to the shade. Shade may also reduce the power available for series panels as shown at time 8:30 to 10:00 in the link. 10:15 strongly suggests that heavy uniform shading like a solar farm is needed for half cut cell performance improvement. ie All modules need to be similarly shaded in the lower half on any given row (series string).

My take is that half cell series panels (with the new MPPT controller) are more likely to be a disadvantage for the typical RV due to the unique shade and shade orientation required for more shade power vs the full cell panels. Plus no doubt the new MPPT with additional power point cost.

What's your take on the video?
2009 Holiday Rambler 42' Scepter with ISL 400 Cummins
750 Watts Solar Morningstar MPPT 60 Controller
2014 Grand Cherokee Overland

Bob
14 REPLIES 14

CA_Traveler