cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Why not jack trailer under the spring plates?

opnspaces
Navigator
Navigator
For years people have asked where to place the jack in order to jack up a travel trailer. And people always say do not put the jack under the spring pack. This has bothered me for years because it doesn't make sense to me. Now I'm not an engineer by any means. But could somebody please explain why under the spring pack is bad? I mean look at the pictures below. In an under slung axle the entire weight of the trailer looks to be on two very small u-bolts. Am I wrong? It seems that the u-bolts are holding the weight. If the thin u-bolts are holding the weight.and the spring is on a thin perch welded under the axle; How is jacking at that point going to be a problem?

And in a travel trailer with over slung axles putting a block, or even a floor jack under the axle seems like it would be okay. The axle tube is thick enough to hold the trailer in the air with the u-bolts on top. Are we saying the tube is thinner on the opposite side of the axle tube?
2001 Suburban 4x4. 6.0L, 4.10 3/4 ton **** 2005 Jayco Jay Flight 27BH **** 1986 Coleman Columbia Popup
44 REPLIES 44

Grit_dog
Nomad III
Nomad III
opnspaces wrote:
For years people have asked where to place the jack in order to jack up a travel trailer. And people always say do not put the jack under the spring pack. This has bothered me for years because it doesn't make sense to me.

That info is only propagated by the rvnet peanut gallery afaik.
2016 Ram 2500, MotorOps.ca EFIlive tuned, 5โ€ turbo back, 6" lift on 37s
2017 Heartland Torque T29 - Sold.
Couple of Arctic Fox TCs - Sold

opnspaces
Navigator
Navigator
Well at least it's good to know that I'm not alone in jacking from the spring pack.
2001 Suburban 4x4. 6.0L, 4.10 3/4 ton **** 2005 Jayco Jay Flight 27BH **** 1986 Coleman Columbia Popup

valhalla360
Nomad II
Nomad II
red31 wrote: