cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Using a Cellular Tablet?

Texsinbad
Explorer
Explorer
I am a newbie in the process of buying a travel trailer. There are several apps for rving that I will need and use. Looking at them on a cell phone isn't appealing to me.

Samsung, and probably others, have a 8" and 10" tablet that also has cellular and wifi. I was thinking about getting and using it primarily for rving--finding campsites, and it can be used with RV Life/Trip Wizard as a RV GPS.

Of course, it can still be used as a regular tablet.

Not being technically minded, I would appreciate any comments/suggestions about using a cellular tablet for rving.

Thanks
8 REPLIES 8

wildtoad
Explorer II
Explorer II
We use our IPhones for just about everything but sometimes we want the larger screes that iPadโ€™s offer and then we use the phones as hot spots for the IPads. My iPad Pro is a bit heavy to use for along time unless itโ€™s in its stand/keyboard.
Tom Wilds
Blythewood, SC
2016 Newmar Baystar Sport 3004
2015 Jeep Wrangler 2dr HT

Lwiddis
Explorer
Explorer
Very pleased with my iPad 2 on the road and at home.
Winnebago 2101DS TT & 2022 Chevy Silverado 1500 LTZ Z71, WindyNation 300 watt solar-Lossigy 200 AH Lithium battery. Prefer boondocking, USFS, COE, BLM, NPS, TVA, state camps. Bicyclist. 14 yr. Army -11B40 then 11A - (MOS 1542 & 1560) IOBC & IOAC grad

valhalla360
Nomad II
Nomad II
A tablet that has a SIM card slot is really just an oversize cell phone. Unless you want to make that your primary cell phone (and it will work), just get a regular wifi tablet and connect to your cell phone hotspot.

Personally I find 10" tablets to be too large to hold conveniently for long. I prefer 7" or 8" as a more comfortable size while still getting a bigger screen.
Tammy & Mike
Ford F250 V10
2021 Gray Wolf
Gemini Catamaran 34'
Full Time spliting time between boat and RV

bob_nestor
Explorer III
Explorer III